Live, Laugh, Love, Lisa











Ronnie’s in Orlando, Florida,  was a mainstay back in the 60’s-90’s. My husband said as a kid after a visit to the pediatrician in Winter Park his mom and dad would take him to Ronnie’s for lunch. Every table had a crock of pickles and a container of coleslaw.

I posted on Facebook my attempt at pickle making and friends said they’d go eat at Ronnie’s after fall back-to-school shopping, or family outings to Orlando,  or breakfast on Sunday’s after church, etc. Ronnie’s was a classic!

Since I’ve heard about Ronnie’s dill pickles for years and years I decided to see if I could try and find their recipe.

Sure enough I’m not the only one looking for the recipe. In the Orlando Sentinel newspaper someone inquired and they published the recipe.

My girlfriend and I got together last Friday and started making pickles. This particular recipe calls for a crock to hold approximately 5 pounds, compared to typical pickle recipes that are canned in quart jars.

Both of us realized we didn’t have a ceramic crock or glass jar handy.  After a Google search I learned that Firehouse Subs sells their food safe plastic pickle tubs for 2 dollars each. The proceeds go to local firefighters.

This was much more appealing than purchasing $60 crock that I may only use one time.

Attached are pictures of our pickle making project.

image

Cukes in water and pickling spices

image

Fresh dill on top

image

Layer of cheesecloth on top

image

Weight (plate) to hold pickles under water

image

Thanks, Firehouse Subs

image

Pickle chefs extraordinary.  I’m in the ponytail.

image

Day 4 into the fridge

image

Quart jars and reusable dry erase labels

Can’t wait!

et cetera